My Choices for WORST songs on the 1990’s

I finally did it.  I had to get it out of my system…I hate these songs.  They are terrible.  Truly awful.

I based this list on a few main criteria:

  • Popularity at the time they were released
  • Staying power; are they still played today on the radio, Muzak, etc
  • I tried to avoid awful groups/bands, like The Backstreet Boys, N’Sync, and Nirvana (sorry grungers), because it would be impossible to list that many.  However, there are some lucky people who made it on the list twice.
  • General awful-ness

Of course, these opinions are my own…feel free to agree or disagree!

And naturally, I’ve included links to the songs, in case you need a reminder of how BAD they truly are!

And now, in no particular order, my bottom 30 songs of the 1990’s…my ears are already bleeding.

Ricky Martin: La Vida Loca

Limp Bizkit: Nookie

Shawn Colvin: Sunny Came Home

Jewel: Hands

Waterfalls: TLC

Sugar Ray: Someday (barely edging their own “Fly”)

J-Lo: Waiting for Tonight

Prodigy: Firestarter

Savage Garden: Truly Madly Deeply

Sinead O’Conner: Nothing Compares to You

Sister Hazel: All for You

Vanessa Williams: Saved the Best for Last

Del Ametri: Roll to Me

Sheryl Crow: If it Makes You Happy

Santana Ft: Rob Thomas: Smooth

Lady Marmalade: Christina Agualara & Friends

Californiacation: Red Hot Chili Peppers

Blurry: Puddle of Mudd (I was once making fun of this band with a co-worker, not realizing that they were sitting 2 seats down at the bar!)

It’s Been a While: Stained

Pretty Fly for a White Guy: The Offspring

Lullaby: Shawn Mullins

Barely Breathing: Duncan Shiek

And with 2 each on my list:

Where Have all the Cowboy’s Gone?

I Don’t Wanna Wait

By Paula Cole

Higher

Arms Wide Open

By Creed

Kiss from a Rose

Fly Like an Eagle

By Seal

And a special 1-hit-wonder of terrible category:

Eiffel 65: Blue

Aqua: Barbie Girl

Los Del Rio: Macerena

Lou Vega: Mambo # 5

Marcy Playground: Sex and Candy

Jimmy Ray: Are You Jimmy Ray?

OMC: How Bizarre?

Chumbawamba: Tubthumping

Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen): Baz Luhrmann

Published in: on 2.17.2009 at 6:27 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://winewithgraham.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/my-choices-for-worst-songs-on-the-1990s/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know you really do have a soft spot in your heart for Nirvana. I didn’t notice any Pearl Jam on the list…

  2. So, I really like your blog but wondering what this has to do with wine? Maybe the title of this entry could have been, “Songs that don’t go with wine (or anything else……)” Sounds like you are doing well!

    Kindel


Leave a comment